Sweet Tooth

How much time do you normally spend in the kitchen?  It’s been dubbed by many to be the heart of the home.  Is the time you spend there enjoyable or a chore?  I can say without hesitation that part of the jobs in the kitchen are more work than play for me, that’s the dishes (and we even have a dishwasher!)  As a side note, I certainly have done time without a dishwasher; at that time, we didn’t even have a double sink!  In our first year of marriage Andres and I lived in a 390 sq ft apartment and the kitchen was SMALL, with no counter space and a single sink in which to do dishes.  Looking back, I think that year we were the most diligent at making sure our kitchen was clean, probably because A., we were newly married and still trying to keep up appearances 🙂 and B. because if one area of that place looked messy/dirty, then the whole place looked that way.  Anyways, back on topic, I have two favourite things to do in the kitchen; try new recipes, and bake.  Generally, the trying of new recipes takes precedence because I’m making dinner anyways.  (You have to make time for it, so why not make it fun and interesting!)  My most recent escapade involved eggplant, and it was surprisingly tasty!  Baking often gets reserved for weekends, but Andres and I have been trying to eat healthier, and since it’s us that ends up eating the treats, we’re trying not to make as much, as often.

With this week being Spring break, I thought, pshaw!  Why not indulge a little?!  I have the entire week to do some of those things I don’t always have extra time for.  And even so, this is the closest I’ve come so far to doing any baking! (I apologize for the quality of these pictures – they were taken with my cell phone!

What have I been doing you might ask?  Well, I’ve been putting a lot of my efforts into painting my soon-to-be baby room, which is no small task. (pictures hopefully to come on Thursday)  With all this painting, my sweet tooth has been growing and I hope to find myself in and around the oven soon, making my house smell like sugar and spice, and all that’s nice!  (or at least chocolaty!)
Does anyone have a favourite cookie, square or cake recipe they are interested in sharing?  I’m always looking for good recipes to taste test at tea time.

6 thoughts on “Sweet Tooth

  1. Hi Cindy!
    Ah yes, I remember that tiny kitchen too. The lack of space drove me crazy and I often used our tiny dinning table to make more space when cooking. You’ve been cooking with eggplant? That’s great! Does Andres like it? Jeremie is still not sold on the idea but I try to sneak it in when I can. Do you have some favorite eggplant recipes?

    Here is a cookie recipe I made yesterday: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Beths-Spicy-Oatmeal-Raisin-Cookies/Detail.aspx. It’s one of our favorites 🙂

    Josee

  2. Oooh, I have all sorts of yummy recipes! Brownies, chocolate chip cookies, pumpkin bread, cinnamon buns… (I’m doing a sugar fast of sorts right now, so these are all the things I’ve been drooling over…). So yummy! Let me know if you want any of them!

  3. I love your new pictures – I think you should add a kid to one though! Licking an egg beater, peering in the oven, taste testing, “helping” mix or place cookies… They are so cute!

  4. They are very cute – I love the old cookstove! Yes, I agree with Naomi – there should be a little wobble helping 🙂

  5. I’ve got a wonderful peanutbutter cookie recipie (tastes great with choc chips)… oh, and danishes and croissants. Let me know…

Leave a Reply

