Freaky Friday

What do you do on a Friday night?

Coffee shop

This past weekend I spent my Friday night watching a funny albeit slightly rude chick flick with my mom and a good friend.  Being a romantic comedy, the film had its own views on what love is, and how dating works. ( They usually turn out to be so predictable –   the guy always gets the girl in the end!  Maybe that’s what is so great about them?)  Anyways, the actors went on some fun activities and got me thinking – what do you do on a Friday?  I was a little hesitant as to what the internet might put out there that is “fun” to do on a Friday but I checked it out and I was pleasantly surprised!  I don’t want to get into the habit of listing, but I had to share some of the ideas I found: here are some of my favourite suggestions :

*Call some friends and have a potluck and / or games night.  Ask everyone to bring some food to share or get some ice cream and have everyone bring an ice cream topping.  Andres and I do this often and it is one of our favourite ways to spend a weekend evening, either by ourselves or with friends.  If you need some suggestions, give Ticket To Ride a try, or, our new favourite is called The Gates of Loyang.  It’s a great two-player game.  If you’re into cards, we love Rook and Bananza!

*Going to a movie!  Go online and find out what’s playing on in your city. If there are no good movies out at the time, give a club with live music a try.  My opinion** is that there aren’t any good movies out in the theatre at the present time, but sometimes, there’s lots to go and see.  And I mean, if it all comes down to wanting to watch a movie, there are always goodies to rent – I personally love musicals (have you seen Singin’ in the Rain?!)

*Go downtown and stroll. (Obviously weather dependent) Find a good coffee shop and enjoy the scenery.  It’s not just for Paris.  Tim Hortons or Starbucks is always a great place for great conversation!

*If you don’t want to spend all that much, I found that going for ice cream or some other dessert is a fun way to go out!  On a totally different but inexpensve note, if you want to stay at home, taking a bubble bath was also very popular.

*Like to dance? You don’t have to go to a bar to kick up your heels (although that’s an option, too). Invite a few friends over, move the couch and loveseat out of the way and crank up the stereo. If the neighbors complain, invite them over!  And maybe meet them for the first time!

*I loved this idea, because as you know from one of my previous posts, how about getting creative either with crafts or baking?  Chocolate chip cookies, a model airplane, or a picnic table, you name it! Whatever your hobby, Friday night is a great time to get out the ingredients, tools, or whatever and play until you’re too tired to play anymore.

*Find out if there are any sports teams playing in your city / town – it can be a blast to go and cheer your team on.  Get some popcorn or a hotdog and enjoy the energy!

*This might not be the funnest thing in everyone’s mind, but the idea came up to teach yourself to change the oil in your car – I mean, it is certainly a messy job, but think how accomplished you’d feel afterwards!

*I had to put this one in because my hubby is an astronomer – depending on the weather, head outside and enjoy some stargazing – you can easily find some star maps online.  Try and distinguish between star colours – red?  Blue?  Check out the moon too – it’s an amazing sight.

What do you do on a Friday night?

P.S.  I have updated my Art gallery – take a peek!  Also, I have been trying to get my Wobble shop up and running and have been running into some trouble – be patient – I am working on it and will have it updated ASAP!

5 thoughts on “Freaky Friday

  1. I personally love the coffee shop, and think going out for a coffee and visiting friends and having good conversation is one of my favorites. I like to do a lot of different things, but I would have to say, if you’re a people person, this one is on my top 3.

  2. Hi Cindy,
    I love reading your posts. David and I have been having lots of discussions about our weekend activities and how we should be spending our time. We have a couple things we usually do on a Friday night: go for dinner as I don’t want to cook any more at that point, go to a movie, have friends over for dinner, but most Friday nights we are tired and leave the fun for Saturday :0).

  3. Last night we had Friends from Kelowna visiting and had dinner together and enjoyed a walk along the seawall and reading books with their little one before bed. We love going for coffee too or just relaxing watching hockey or knitting and watching hockey 🙂

Leave a Reply

