Back Seat Driver

UPDATE!  Picture has been posted below.

Are you a back seat driver? Do you feel the need for speed? (or vice versa?) Does your foot involuntarily press down on an imaginary brake pedal when you get nervous? Mine does 🙂 I don’t like to give driving advice very often since I know how frustrating it can be when it’s given to me. However, I do like to let people know when I’m uncomfortable (which I must admit, doesn’t happen very often). I would say most of the time being uncomfortable has to do with unruly driving behaviours, ie. going too fast or driving a standard and pushing its limits. There are certain people I feel very comfortable with at the wheel, but most of the time I like to be in control of the car. There are people I know of who would love to be chauffeured around and wouldn’t miss driving one bit. Then there are others like myself, who enjoy driving just for the sake of driving, and so are always the one who sits in the driver’s seat.

Question, when you cruise, do you like the music blaring or do you prefer to have the tunes off and turn up the conversation? I usually tend to talk more if there is someone else in the car, but if I’m by myself, the tunes come out full force. What have you been listening to lately? I find I always get behind in the music world especially when I find something I enjoy. I love jazz, Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong in particular, but there is a mood for every type of music I think.

Cruising

In any case, ever since I wrote about cruising a week or so back, I’ve had a picture in my mind that I’ve really wanted to create and haven’t had the time. I finally made it happen. It felt really good to be “back in colour” so to speak after trying out Black and White. I especially like the way the green hills get lighter and lighter as they get further into the distance.  I don’t put details like that in my work very often but I think it’s very successful in this case.  I can’t decide if it needs some trees or not; what do you think?

7 thoughts on “Back Seat Driver

  1. I had to chuckle at Josee’s comment, as I too have a Jeremy in my life who loves speed!
    I was hoping there was going to be a new paining to go with this blog…. I will have to check it when I get home from school tonight.
    Take care!

  2. This is soooo cute and I love the colors… the hills look like a fairytale so your imagination can take you anywhere. I love the car too 🙂

  3. I prefer driving for sure… I think since I’ve been driving alot longer than Christian and more often I feel I know what my car can do and how drivers interact better than my husband… he he he I try to keep my mouth shut an let him drive but and I prefer driving windy roads for sure and he knows that : )

    I like music in the car… Vampire Weekend, Mumford & Sons, Avett Brothers, Ben Harper, Lenny Kravits, Sarah Bareilles, Sherly Crow, and The Killers. Depending on my mood for sure it can vary so much!

  4. I LOOOVE road trips- I love to drive, love good cars—and love your pic!! Very cute. As to the drive?? tunes all the way and it depends on the scenery what I like to listen to! Driving down the Cariboo roads with lots of loud country- driving up the North Thompson with gregorian chanting or solemn thoughtful music- like that!!

Leave a Reply

