You say potato … I say poe-ta-toe

I find it really interesting that when given an idea, different people have such unique interpretations of those ideas.  I am thinking about painting in general, but really, everyone has an opinion about everything, (even neutral is an opinion!) and those opinions can be similar or extremely different from the next person’s perspective.  Take my latest painting for example 🙂  What is the first thing that comes to mind when you think, “underwater?”  I might guess that someone like my mom and dad, having just got back from a trip to Hawaii (so jealous!) might think of all the colourful fish that you can see snorkeling.  Someone else might think Titanic, and so on and so forth.  When I think of underwater, one of the first things that comes to my mind is “mermaid” and to be more specific, Ariel the Little Mermaid.    This was my favourite favourite movie when I was a kid and I watched it all the time.  I collected the bedroom set, Ariel barbies, you name it, I probably had it.  So, when Andres and I came up with the idea of doing an underwater theme to our wobbles adventures, I thought … mermaids and treasure chests.  I was shocked to see his interpretation …

Underwobbles

But at the same time, I LOVED it!  It was so different to me and so creative, I had to chuckle.  I thought we would have been on exactly the same page.  Andres and I often have very different ideas about lots of different things, so I’m surprised now that I was surprised at all 🙂  Of course, the Wobbles idea is originally his, so it makes sense that his creative vision often fits the type of drawing more than mine does.  (If you don’t know the story of how our Wobbles came to be, click on my Art Gallery to read my artist statement)  The shape of the scuba wobble is just priceless in my opinion.   I think Andres was just as surprised at the differences in our pre-design ideas.  We had quite a good time trying to figure out how to draw a mer-wobble – it’s actually quite hard – do you still make the whole body one colour, or do you cut the “tail” and “wobble” into two separate parts/two separate colours?  I still want to make a mer-wobble painting too, maybe to complement this one.  One of Andres’ thoughts for the bottom would have taken it a very different direction; old city ruins.  What do you think would have been more fitting?

Sorry my post is late by the way, last night I was still painting at 10:15pm and Andres said to me, “it’s supposed to be fun, you want to do a good job and that happens when you’re enjoying yourself.”  I was feeling guilty about not having a “Monday Post” but he was right, so I set my brushes aside and ended up enjoying the rest of my evening much more than I would have stressing about finishing the canvas.  Stay tuned for my Thursday post though – it’s about a “face-lift” 🙂  Stay tuned, and have a great week!

3 thoughts on “You say potato … I say poe-ta-toe

  1. I love this! When I think of underwater,Ii immediately think of scuba diving as it is a sport that Jeremy and I have taken up in the last 4 years, and love it! Especially when diving underwater in Thailand!

  2. You’re right – I think about the beautiful fish and coral, and the big, big sea turtles that are soooo awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

