The New Look

Yeah!  After much painting and waiting for said paint to dry, we are finally finished painting our room.  It really is amazing how many coats we had to do on that red wall – I think the total was five.  The light brown looked really good after two coats but we pushed it to a professional three and it looks great.  I cannot say how good it feels to have that done; however, the setting back in order has yet to be accomplished.  It is our Monday night project.  I am hoping to have the finished picture in a special post tomorrow, so don’t miss it!  We were only put out for about five days but it felt much longer than that.   More exciting news is that we are having our entire house painted this week: trim, doors, the works.  It will look so fresh, I can’t wait.  This among other things is making me want to re-organize everything in our home.  While some might call this nesting, I feel that “nesting” refers more to getting things ready for the baby; what we’re doing is more home renovations.  (Perhaps you might feel that I’m in denial, but I really am often interested in moving around furniture / painting / general change within my house.  As a young person, I often changed the way the furniture in my room was situated, and once I had the means, I painted a couple of times too.  Change is good, and it’s fun!  I always thought that interior design would be an interesting occupation!)  While Andres and I have been finishing up our space, I have not been forgetting my canvas, and have been painting on a smaller, more decorative level in the meantime too.  I’m having fun with some western themes, and wanted to show you how the process is sometimes started.  I have written a couple of times about how it is difficult to pick out colours at times, and when we feel at a bit of a loss, we jump into the Paintbrush program, which I’ll admit, is rudimentary at best, but does give us a good idea of what the image will look like with different tints and shades.  Which one do you like better, the first or the second?

I really find it helpful to be able to “move colours around” without actually painting.  It can save me a lot of frusturation in the long run!  I dont’ know about you, but I do notice a big difference in the “likability” of the picture depending on how and where different colours are placed.  I felt like the one on the left had too much orange (the horse and the person) but the one one the right almost feels like there isn’t enough yellow.  What do you think?  Anyways, all in all, there is by far less re-painting and more finishing, which is always the goal 🙂

Out Riding Fences

I’m off to re-organize a bookshelf and hang some curtains.  I can hear Andres hammering already 🙂 Check back tomorrow for our finished bedroom shot!

4 thoughts on “The New Look

  1. Nesting isn’t just preparation for the baby. While I think it often includes that it’s not restricted to it. Before I had Bethany I decided to take apart a fan I’d had for 4 years and clean it, blade by blade, I sorted through drawers and sorted underwear by size, color and purpose (sexy vs. grannies). I swore it wasn’t “nesting” because I didn’t want to be typical but it was. The morning I went into labour with her I woke up at 6am, unusually early for myself with the urge to make muffins. It was nesting.

    I’m not saying you are but this just might be your soul’s way of nesting. And nested or not, you’re almost there and that’s exciting!

  2. Cindy, I love what paint can do to change a room or your entire home! When we purchased our first home it had all white walls. We painted every room with colors, some bold, some warm, I loved the transformation!

    I also love your western themed paintings… one of my nephew’s was really into the cowboy thing, I wonder if he still is… I’d love to purchase a painting for his new room, he loves bright colors, I think he will be fascinated by it! Nathan loves underwater things, so maybe I’ll have to get an underwater painting for him. have to make it fair for both boys!

    enjoy the week, and all the business of the house getting painted!!
    Lillie

  3. Very cute…I think you’re just getting your new home together – when you actually own your own home, you want to fix it up so it’s “Yours.” When you rent, you just don’t have the same desire to make it yours!
    Love the cowboys…reminds me of Cowboy Coffee LOL
    I think you will love having your whole house painted – I can’t wait to see it.

  4. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian

Leave a Reply

