It’s All Coming Back To Me Now

Since Monday’s post I have been rewarded with some uninterrupted painting time.  It’s been great.  I’m starting to like my painting again rather than look at it and grumble, oh great, another project I’ve started that I will have to finish.  Do you have projects like that?  I seem to know a lot of people who start projects with good intentions, and somehow, they end up at the back of the top shelf gathering dust.  (Or in my case, they end up at the back of the closet, hiding behind all my other paintings.)  I wonder why we lose interest in something we were originally looking forward to spending time on or excited to try.  I remember one undertaking in particular I started when I was probably about 14 years old.  I did a lot of tole painting on wood when I was younger and my mom and I found this really unique looking piece of wood in the shape of a tall fir tree, presumably a Christmas tree.  We bought it and I had visions of what this project would look like once it was finished – I was super excited. (In retrospect, it would have been a great Wobble project!)  I remember painting the tree green (side note, does anyone else have trouble with greens like I do?!) and then after that, for some reason, I didn’t quite know what to do with it next and rather than try some different things, I put it aside, promising myself I’d pick it up again in a couple of days.  Well, the days turned into weeks and even my mom noticed and reminded me a number of times, would you please get on that project?  I want to use it for Christmas!  I never finished it.  I don’t even know what happened to the piece of wood – it must have eventually gotten thrown out or burned.  I have lots of projects that are hiding and I still don’t feel like getting them out and finishing them.  Lucky for me, my carousel painting has intrigued me again.  I’ve turned the corner on this one – I’ve painted enough of it now to really begin to see what it will look like once it’s finished and so far, I’m really happy with it.  My desire to see it complete is going to get me to the end.  I know I’ll feel good once it’s finished.  Good that I started and completed it.

Anyways, back to my original question, why we lose interest in something we were originally looking forward to spending time on or excited to try – any thoughts?  And furthermore, any suggestions on finishing up?

3 thoughts on “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now

  1. Well, my one cleaning project is stalled because the more i work on it, the worse it looks. Considering it was meant to make it look clean and nice, i’m kind of chapped (with me and it) that its looking worse… not chapped enough to deal with it [yet] mind you. My sewing project stalled because it looks good enough with only three sides done. The fourth side is semi-done so it’ll probably get done when i pack it back into storage. Right now i’d like to do some bigger projects like house painting, but they are temporarily on hold because i know its more than i’m actually capable of right now… not so much a lack of interest as a lack of capability.

    Depending on the project, i find different things keep me going. Usually sewing projects get finished because i get irritated seeing the half sewn pieces lying around. If i have to get it done, it needs to stay somewhat visible. If its a huge project, then i try to do it in smaller pieces so i don’t get exhausted contemplating the larger whole. Getting tired of working on a good thing is probably my biggest enemy on large projects. Oh, and for Sarah’s baby quilt, i left it to nearer D-day and then scrambled to get it done… not ideal, but it worked!

  2. I loose interest in projects when I begin to understand (or imagine) the amount of time and effort that will need to go into the project to get it done. The funny thing is… when I actually get it done it’s never as bad as I thought it was going to be.

Leave a Reply

