Quilter’s block

Since I only finished Cupcake Carousel this Saturday, I have not done any painting; however, I have finished the drawing on my canvas and am excited to start my new idea.  Before I ramble about what it will be, I wanted to let you know that Cupcake Carousel is going to be put up at the Sweet Spot Cupcakes store in Aberdeen!  I am hoping to get it put up sometime this week as long as that fits the store schedule.  Have you been there by the way?  Their cupcakes are divine 🙂  Now, onto my new idea … where did it come from you might ask?  From this book:

I have quite a few friends who are very talented quilters.  This past week one of them came for coffee and brought some of her quilting books.  I scanned through the one above and found a quilt that caught my eye, not because of the particular fabric design, but because there was a very unique addition using string.  Unfortunately, I don’t know quilting vocab 🙂  You readers will have to help me out: it’s not crocheting, it’s not cross-stitch, it’s not using more fabric to make a picture, but it’s something similar.  The idea must have planted itself into my subconscious and then this morning I had an epiphany!  I could use wobbles in a similar way, and it would be such a unique painting!  To say the least, I am very excited about the idea.  And about the size of canvas; it’s small.  Very small 🙂  I think I’m done with large scale canvases for another little while.  Although my Cupcake carousel was very fun and I’m really pleased with how it turned out, I’ll be happy to start and finish more pictures in a shorter amount of time.  For example, the Canucks pre-season has started and I’m working on a wobble Canucks idea that I think will be fabulous 🙂  I’m hoping that one will get started in the next few weeks 🙂  In any case, you’ll be able to see the result of the quilting book this Thursday.

Oh yes, I can’t finish this post without letting you know the winner from my previous contest – Aunt Leanne!  Hurray 🙂  I will be emailing you in the next week!

4 thoughts on “Quilter’s block

  1. I am so excited about this new idea!! I don’t think that it’s just because I’m a quilter!! I can’t wait to see it when you’re finished!
    lillie

Leave a Reply

