A Snail’s pace

One of my best friends, I often call her my bigger sister, is soon to become a mommy for the first time.  I am so excited for her and cannot wait to meet her little one once he or she arrives, which will be in about 7 weeks.  In the meantime, plans have been afoot to paint some nursery pictures for her.  I have actually been pretty diligent in getting these done, all things considered.  I know what all the images are going to look like and have finished one so far!  Hurray!  Now I just need to go out and buy a couple more canvases that are the same size and we’re gold 🙂  It looks to me like these will be finished on time!  On the other hand, there is a project that I’ve been incredibly slow at finishing 🙂  Probably slower than a snail’s pace if you ask me!  The story goes like this:

My sister got married this past January and I wanted to paint her and her new husband something special for their new place.  (You already know where this is going don’t you?!  I know, it’s terrible!)  It took a while for her to decide what she wanted (probably like, a month or two) and since that initial decision, she changed her mind once more.  Then life got busy, yada yada yada, we had our own baby, and now here we are, it’s October, and I’m still not finished her wedding gift!  We laughed a while back that if I didn’t get it done by their one year anniversary, she would have the upper hand, as in … “you haven’t finished my paintings yet so …”  I got down to business after we got home this past Monday and got a whole canvas done! (yes, she wants a set of four)  So, I am now finished three of the four canvases and feeling like I’m actually going to finish them on time! (haha)

To top this snail’s pace off, you know that I have been finding it hard to paint a lot since Bunny came on the scene.  Fast-forward to yesterday when I found out that I have been accepted into the Salmon Arm Art Gallery’s Affordable Art Fair this December!  Hurray!  I’m so excited, but also more than a little nervous about how much painting I’m going to get done in the next month and a half.  As I’ve been averaging about one canvas every one-and-a-half weeks, I still have to finish the wedding set and I have four nursery paintings to go, well, you get the picture … I wonder if I’ll have any extra time to squeeze in some paintings for the show??  Lets pretend for now that it will all work out and I’ll have plenty of time 🙂  In playing along with me, anybody out there have suggestions on images to paint for the art show??  Andres and I are going to have a brainstorm session this weekend but your thoughts are always welcome!

P.S.  I’ll let you know when the opening night is closer to the date.

6 thoughts on “A Snail’s pace

  1. Either one pic broken into pieces, or a series of paintings that depict different stages of life. Birth, first day of school, graduation, marriage, middle age, life as a senior…

    And a Wobbly day at the beach! =) Or Wobbly Nativity Scene… (I’m such a sucker for nativity scenes!)

  2. I say a bug series. I am in LOVE with Bethany’s lady bug picture and I think that a lady bug, dragon fly, butterfly and bumble bee would be so cute (and if it didn’t sell at the art show I have to invest or commission…). You’ve got such a talent with so many different creatures!

    That snail is pretty cute too.

  3. I love the suggestions for Wobble nativity and Wobble bugs. Big bug fan, right here!
    Also – what about Wobble holstein cows? (the ones that are white with black blotches, for your readers who don’t know). This might be especially appropriate for Salmon Arm, which has a large dairy herd! A rickety fence, a barn, a bird perched on the cow’s back… maybe I should take up painting too! 🙂

  4. Cindy,
    It is so adorable and can hardly wait to see what you will do with the other four. It is exactly what I saw in my mind’s eye, but would have not been able to decribe or draw it – so excited! David is going to love it too.

  5. Very cool you are in the Salmon Arm event this December. Here are some things that remind me of Salmon Arm: Fruit (Apples, Cherries, Peaches, Grapes), Orchards (picking fruit), The lake, the Salmon Run, Roots and Blues festival, eating ice cream form De Dutchman Dairy, Go Carts, Boating (water skiing, tubing), Margaret Falls, walking at the Wharf, Wednesday’s at the Wharf (community jazz nights in the summer) Cross country skiing at Larch Hills, Sledding during recess and lunch at school, ice skating outside in a field, Hayrides with hot chocolate, Haney Heritage Park,

    Very random thoughts but call me if you want to fine tune any ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

