An Exciting Introduction

I haven’t posted in another week!  Wow, time flies.  I have been procrastinating a bit this week and not painting during my few daily intervals.  My family also took a weekend trip down to the Coast to see some friends.  While we were down there, we went to my FAVOURITE place … Opus Art Store!!!!!

My little girl’s first time in an art store … I wonder what she thought!

I had a hayday in there as I always do, and came out with more than I should have!  They just have so much cool stuff.  And lots of it.  And at very reasonable prices.  It’s just win-win-win (for all you Office watchers out there 🙂  )   When I got home, I was determined to get back into my blog / painting schedule, it just took me a few extra days 🙂  I am now officially back in the blogosphere, posting twice weekly.

While I was gallivanting, my Dad was rustling up some more business for me, (Thanks Dad!)  which means I probably have another commission headed my way.  Now, don’t get all nervous on me, I know I still have some other ones to finish … there’s a queue and they will all get finished … on time!  Have I mentioned that my mom is coming to stay with me for a week coming up and is going to give me some extra painting time?!  My bunny is going to have a grama-sitter for a little while.  The potential commission picture I have already seen and I’m super excited about this new one.  It’s quite different than most I’ve ever done, and I think it’s going to look stunning when it’s done.  You’ll have to wait and see!   But lets not get ahead of ourselves.  I did have an orchard painting that last you all saw, was just barely started.  Well, I’m pleased to say that I did finish it, and I like it quite a bit.  This is my first orchard painting.  I have done other tree paintings before, and I in general really like painting trees.  They are a lot of fun because they can be wobbly, just like my characters.  They don’t have to be geometrical and straight.  I took advantage of this in my painting and I think it turned out better for it.  My orchard lines are not straight – some trees just out a bit more than others and they are different sizes.  Any body out there who has worked or lived in an orchard?  I wonder how long it takes to do all the fruit picking on all those trees.  Must take weeks?  That’s my guess.  Do you get to eat all the fruit you want while you’re working?  Do you get to take some home with you?  That’s my mind at work late at night 🙂  I hope you enjoy “The Orchard” as much as I do.  I’m off to plan some more exciting pieces, I have nine done for my art show as of today!

The Orchard

Speaking of which, I’m supposed to be getting a e-flyer for the show that I’ll put on the blog so you can get all the info you need, but just in case you need to plan ahead and wanted to come, the show is at the Salmon Arm Art Gallery on Friday, December 3rd at 7pm.  I hope I will see some friendly faces there!  Last year they had delicious food and an amazing musical group – it was a ton of fun 🙂

Happy Monday – see you Thursday!

One thought on “An Exciting Introduction

  1. I love the orchard painting. I hope others from Salmon Arm will too! Some things I’ve observed from apple picking. You wear like a back pack but on the front and it looks like the bushels you have in your painting. Then when these bags they have a bottom that unclips an the apple go in a big fruit bin and a tractor comes to pick it up. Apple harvest in late in the fall so it is usually getting cooler and the leaves are starting to change. I’m not sure how long it takes to pick an orchard but usually it is a rush to get it picked just before it gets too cold and night and the crop can be ruined by an unexpected frost. We usually ate whatever apples we wanted and sometimes there are ones that fall on the ground and you can feed to horses. If you have more questions my Dad is the guy to ask. He picked alot growing up in SA.

Leave a Reply

