December 1st

I LOVE December for many reasons.  Not only is it the month I was born, I’m going to become an Aunt this year, I now have my own baby to celebrate with, I get to have chocolate from my Advent calendar, (Andres and I have been eating “healthy” lately and been having no sweets or sweet/salt of any kind – this daily chocolate is going to be a VERY satisfying daily reward 🙂 ) and December has all the Christmas traditions I talked about in an earlier post.  My Jesse Tree ornaments are coming along, although I am finding that there are very different ornaments and different verses one can make / read for each day.  If you’d like to follow along with me I’ll post the readings at the bottom of my blog, and I’ll try and post the verses everyday.

I decided it might be fun to watch a Christmas movie every night of December, so Andres and rang in the month with Tim Allen’s The Santa Clause.  It’s cute.  My favourite movie to watch is A Christmas Carol – the old black and white version with Alistar Sim as Scrooge.  It’s the best.  My dad and I always say we’re going to watch it … we get to it about 50% of the time 🙂  Any favourite Christmas movies out there?  I’ll need some ideas!

Jesse Tree Introduction: 1 Sam 16:1-13 – Samuel Anoints David, Isa 11:1-10 – A Branch from Jesse

Jesse Tree Day 1: Gen 1:1-2:3 – Creation

This was the closest painting I have that could go with Creation
5 thoughts on “December 1st

  1. Yay for becoming an auntie! Who is expecting? I don’t know where to get them, but if you can find the old Mickey mouse, Donald duck, and co. Christmas cartoons they are so much fun. We had one of Goofy learning to ski that was priceless. Oh, and national lampoon Christmas family vacation.

    Looking forward to following your Jesse tree posts. Are the ornament pre-set or are you designing your own?

    1. Hi Sylvia! Petra is expecting this week 🙂 I’m an honorary auntie! The Jesse Tree ornaments seem to be whatever you like, but from what I’ve found and asked Josee (Thorns to the Stars blogger) they are based off the readings, so generally there is a pretty universal symbol attached (like David = a sling and a rock) I can send you the list if you like 🙂

  2. Hi Cind,
    My favourite is National Lampoons Christmas Vacation, lots of silly laughs. Another favourite is Love Actually. Talk to you this weekend.

Leave a Reply

