The Red Serge Sunset

Sorry everyone, I was slack yesterday.  Today has been a pretty successful paint day.  I got about 2 hours in, which is thanks to a happy jolly jumper, and grama sitting 🙂

I didn’t think it would look this good this early on.  I know that once the background is done, I generally feel like I’m “getting somewhere” but I really feel like I’m a good part of the way finished.  I think this is because the background took so long to do!  Seriously, it took me about an hour just to do the sunset.  It was quite challenging to blend with such a large canvas, especially since I had no blending medium or retardant.  An old stand-by brush and some water did the trick pretty well though.  This commission is a challenging one for a couple of reasons.  Generally I have a picture or two that I am basing my image off of.  I do usually brighten up the colours just a bit, and simplify the details.  In this picture, I’m basing it off of about 6 pictures!  It’s a lot to juggle, but I think it will be worth it.  I really love the boldness of the Red Serge against any other colour.  The red always pops.  And I’ll be the first to admit that I LOVE red 🙂  Speaking of the Red Serge, my dad recently had some professional pictures taken for me of the Red Serge triptych I did in university.  This set has brought me the two other RCMP painting commissions, this one, and the one above.  When I have a minute, I’ll put them up in a post.

Actually, I am soon going to have a lot of paintings I will be able to show you.  The one I had to mail should be at its destination this week, and my baby set is going to its owners tomorrow.  Unfortunately, my Jesse Tree ornaments have been put on the back burner, but I will also have a couple more to show you in a few days.  I do have more done, but haven’t had time to take pictures of them.

I hope you all had a good Monday and Tuesday, I’ll be back with a short post tomorrow with the Jesse Tree readings 🙂

Christmas Movie: A Christmas Carol (my favourite!)

Jesse Tree Day 6: Gen 27:41-28:22 – The Assurance of God’s promise to Abraham

Jesse Tree Day 7: Gen 37, 39:1-50:21 – God’s Providence

Leave a Reply

