See You Next Year …

My family often makes this old joke at least once per season.  Near the end of the year, most chances you get to say “see you next year” are taken.  It’s funny how you can pop from one year into another.  I mean, it doesn’t feel any different.  And yet, stuff does change between December 31st and January 1st of every year.  For instance, you have to change calendars.  Write cheques with the new year at the top.  I have to sign paintings with the new year. ( and I can bet you that I’ll make at least one error and have to redo the date!) I was going to say tax stuff, but that year ends on a different day.  Some of us will resolve to make resolutions for the new year.  I was curious what the most common resolutions people make would be, and according to wikipedia, these are the most popular:

  • Improve health: lose weight, exercise more, eat better, drink less alcohol, quit smoking
  • Improve finances: get out of debt, save money
  • Improve career: get a better job
  • Improve education: improve grades, get a better education, learn something new (such as a foreign language or music)
  • Improve self: become more organized, reduce stress, be less grumpy, manage time, be more independent, perhaps watch less television
  • Take a trip
  • Volunteer to help others

Looking at the list, I can say that yes, I have a goal or two that hits that list!  I like the idea that a new year means a fresh start.  I mean, you can start new every morning, and believe me, I do, but to me there’s something a bit more monumental of a yearly fresh start.  It excites me.  I’m not scared of the large potential to fail (according to wikipedia, 78% of people who make resolutions fail) because even a small positive change is a step in the right direction.

My last year’s large goal for December was to finish my RCMP painting, and I did it!  I finished two days late of my goal, but it was finished nonetheless.

Have you made any new years resolutions?  If yes, what are they?  Please share 🙂  I know, I didn’t share mine with you, so in good spirits, I have four main resolutions this year:

1.  Try and read the Bible every day

2.  Try and exercise 2-3 times a week

3.  Try and not look like a slob when I go out. (This has already partially been achieved – I have gone out and bought some new make-up thanks to the help of a GREAT sister and mom – Thank you! – , and I’m hopefully getting my hair cut this week!)

4.  Continue to “get my art out there” 🙂  If you want to help me with this (please??!) press the facebook “share” button at the bottom of my post.  If you share it with your friends, they might come take a look at my blog, and if they share, and the sharing love continues, I might get a lot of new people checking out my site!

3 thoughts on “See You Next Year …

  1. Those are good plans. I don’t personally make resolutions because I feel they set me up to fail 🙂 If I want to change something in my life I change it the day I feel compelled to do so, rather than resolve to do it. For me it feels a little more free and I”m more likely to stick with it.

    Also, I’ll help you get that art out there any way I can. We get so many compliments on our girls paintings I should really get some of your business cards to hand out!

  2. Don’t be too quick to judge
    Lose some pounds (not the money type!)
    But these are every year 🙂

    ps. Pam loves the painting
    Happy New Year

  3. 1. Try some HIIT – higher intensity interval training
    2. Go on a vacation or two with my hubby
    3. Try and spend each day to the fullest
    4. Counsel our adult kids in ways that count

    I don’t usually make resolutions, but I do like to try and improve in many ways and there are things I hope will happen…these are a few I’m hopeful for.

Leave a Reply

