One year of blogging and beyond

Wow.  I’ll be honest.  I didn’t see myself really carrying through on this one.  I have started so many journals in my life, written in them for about 3 weeks (and not even every day) and then somehow, they got stuck under the bed never to be seen again.  Every time this happened, I promised myself it would be different next time.  Haha.  I am not sure what caused me to find motivation in this case; perhaps it is because I know there are some readers out there, and I feel the need to keep them up to date.  Maybe it was because I didn’t want to be a quitter. In any case, this blog has been a success in many ways, but in particular it has certainly helped me reach the original goal of I had when starting up: to paint more often.  I don’t think I would have painted nearly as often, especially after having a baby, if I didn’t have this blog.  So, clink, (I have a half cup of cold coffee I’m using 🙂 ) thanks everyone for reading and sharing along with me.

I just wrote a post on resolutions and to be honest, I don’t have any for this blog except to continue on as I have been.  I don’t get to post a new painting every post like I used to, but I have learned that writing about my process can be just as interesting and important.  And a little bit done is always better than nothing!  This year, I would like to feature other artists from time to time, so if you would like a little PR, just send me a comment or an email and we can make something exciting happen!  Something else I am interested in doing, but don’t know if it would be interesting to you as readers or not, would be to write a bit here and there about my art inspirations, as in other artists.  This would take a bit of research on my part, but I’m excited to give it a try.  When I was teaching art once upon a time, I felt very “in the know” about the art world.  But I have been away from that for awhile as I’ve been teaching other subjects, and I have felt a tug to get back into my love of art history.  So, anyways, there’s my thoughts on what might happen in 2011.  It will be another exciting year, I’m sure!

On a painting note, I DID finish a painting this week, but it was a commissioned work! (hurray!) And I hope to drop it off in the next couple of days.  The images below are two concepts I did not end up using, but still like compositionally and colour-wise.

3 thoughts on “One year of blogging and beyond

  1. Way to go on the 1 year mark! You probably feel great to have done it for a whole year – that is certainly an accomplishment, and the readers have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you 🙂

Leave a Reply

