Nursery Stories and Mixed Media!

**Did you miss my last post about Artist Trading Cards and are interested in participating in an Art Swap?  Read here, and then let me know!**

I am having a good day.  Just got back from my mom’s group feeling energized and warm-in-spirit; there are others who are in the same spot in life as I am, who are up nightly, (a couple times) who get frustrated from time to time, who love to hear little giggles, who can share what-not-to-eat / what-to-eat stories and the list goes on.  I have been attending the mom’s group for three weeks now and we had five moms come.  It was really nice.  Having a good day, or even good morning really puts stuff into perspective!

My painting perspective as you may have noticed has been dreary this week.  I missed my Monday post, which I felt terrible about but it just didn’t happen, nor did it happen yesterday!  So, it looks like it’s going to be a one day post unless I get my act together and post again tomorrow 🙂  We have been busy with company and dinners.  It has been nice, but a bit stressful at the same time – I’m looking forward to a nice quiet evening tonight: maybe we’ll order pizza and the world will be alright again!  Back to painting, I haven’t been … I got about 1 1/2 hours in the other day, but that has been all the action my brushes have seen in about a week.  I must say, that that bit of time really brought the playground sandbox into another level.  I particularly love how the trees are looking – did you notice them?  I thought this particular piece might look flat if I didn’t add “that little extra”, which came in the form of shading, just in certain places.  Wow, what a difference.  It’s like that little bit of red-orange in the yellow trees was the little pop of colour to make this one stand out.  I have yet to finish the black outlining of the swing-set, which I suspect will also help this one out a lot.  Also, the colours of the wobbles are really working for me.  There was a lot of debate as to what colour the “mom” figure would be. (wobble beside the sandbox)  I was very tempted to make her yellow, because then I would have a triangle of yellow, and it just seemed so perfect composition wise.  As you can see, I didn’t do that in the end, and I think the call I made of painting her pink also worked out well.

The Playground Sandbox

In the meantime, I have a vision for another painting that I am SUPER excited about.  I have been looking around for some other art blogs and found one the other day that really inspired me to try mixed media.  I am going to attempt a mixed media painting, using black and white, and one other colour, which I think will be red.  Curious?  I sure am.  So, it’s off to the art store to buy some thread and some scrapbooking paper.  This idea, whether it works out or not, I think is going to fit the playground theme, but it will be different.  I’ll be using a 12 x 12 inch canvas.  If it works out, I’m thinking I’ll try more and do a series of “colours”, in a playground theme.  I can’t get too ahead of myself though!  One at a time 🙂  I do need some ideas of what kids do at the park / playground though, so please put in your two cents!  If the “Red” works out, I’ll need a green, yellow, purple, orange, blue for sure.  Maybe a pink.  Oh, one other question:  anyone know what is the best way to “glue” paper to canvas?  I was guessing some modge-podge stuff might do the trick.  Any suggestions would be really appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Nursery Stories and Mixed Media!

  1. Hi Cindy! I just got back from my mom’s morning too – they sure are wonderful for helping with perspective and just getting a bit of social time :o) This painting sure is fun. My kids love the playground! The slide is their favourite, though they also love the water park if it is turned on. The park is also fun for kids games (like playing catch with a ball) or having a picnic or ice cream. Have fun painting!! We need a visit soon!

  2. Gel medium works well for holding paper onto canvas. You can get it in gloss or matte. I think your acrylic paints would work ok too. It depends on how much you use. I’ve used the gel medium before with great results. I have some if you want to test it out.

Leave a Reply

