The Red Wobble

**Today is the last day to sign up for the Artist Trading Card swap if you want to do it!  I haven’t had that much interest, so unless I get a couple more people today or early tomorrow, it’s going to be postponed until further notice … go here and sign up if you want to participate!**

Rather than go up to see my folks (because the roads were bad) they came to visit us and it was GREAT to have the grandparents play with Bunny and … give me some uninterrupted art time!  I had a lot of fun experimenting with mixed media – I didn’t go too far out of my boundaries, but I did use paper, modge podge, thread, tulle and paint!  I really like how it turned out.  I tried it on a small square canvas and I’m liking the size so much that I think I’m going to do another in the same size, using Red’s compliment – green.  What do you think about a “frisbee at the park” idea?  I think it will be perfect.  And what could work out better than using a button for the frisbee?!

It took a while to get all the pieces in the right place, and then gluing took some time just because obviously you have to glue one piece at a time, and the once everything was in place, I did another coat to seal any parts that had bubbled even slightly.  I had originally intended to use a damask type of paper for the sky, but the store I went to had nothing of the sort and after I found the paisley pattern, I couldn’t think of anything else I’d like to use for the ground.  The damask might have overpowered the grass.  I’m hoping to find a green type of damask but we’ll see what happens!  Have you done anything out of the ordinary this week?  Oh wait …  it’s only Monday. Haha.  Anything you will be doing that’s out of the ordinary for the week?  I started another painting over the weekend (Thanks to the folks) so I may even get an extra post in this week!  Stay tuned 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Red Wobble

  1. I love the paisley for the grass! It’s just perfect! And the tail of the kite is cute too. This will be great in a kids’ room!

  2. You continue to amaze, Cindy. That’s so cool and it looks beautiful as well. You need to tell that kid to let you do art a bit more often!

  3. Hi Cindy! I wanted to mention something about your art. Back in the 70’s and early 80’s, way before you were born, there was a design company that was seriously trending, and everyone I knew was creating with their fabrics. MARIMEKKO. I used those fabrics in everything, especially my dresses. I distinctly remember making a tablecloth for my son’s round table, complete with fabric napkins, for his second birthday party. If I looked hard, I bet I could find this in my attic. You might want to look this up because I think YOU are the new Marimekko! Love your stuff. Patsye

  4. Thanks everyone for your positive feedback – it encourages my creative spirit to keep on trying new things 🙂 And thanks Patsye, I’ll be checking out this Marimekko – sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

