A Much Needed Break

I got back from Williams Lake yesterday afternoon after spending a long weekend at my parent’s house.  Am I still tired?  Yes.  My child came down with a terrible cold so waking up multiple times per night still happened.  However, I got to sleep in while the grandparents played with Bunny, and I got to have naps in the afternoon.  I didn’t have to make dinner.  My mom did the laundry.  And made coffee.  (lots and lots of it 🙂 ) And played with my Bunny.  Me?  I got to sit on the couch and veg.  It was WONDERFUL, and I wondered, WHY IN THE WORLD haven’t I done this before????  I have already planned my next trip!

Did I paint?  A bit.  Lucky me, I got quite a bit done last weekend while the folks were here, so I got to continue from there.  And … since you haven’t seen a picture yet, you will all think that I got a fair amount done!    I did bring everything along and it was tempting a couple of times, but I’ll be honest.  Napping sounded better.  To be fair, I have also planned out my next mixed media idea and have bought some very fun paper to use.  Too much fun paper in fact.  I found a beautiful green damask, but I found another I like even better!  Opinions?  I love the leaf paper, it seems like just the right “grass”, and it seems too busy with the damask.  I thought of using the damask as little trees, but don’t know if that would just be too much for such a small space.  (The canvas is only 8 x 8 inches.  Also, you have no idea how hard it is to find a funky green button.  I have gone into a couple different stores and have found nothing but the plain clear ones.  My mother-in-law has a jar full and has offered to let me peruse her collection, so hopefully I find a unique one there.

I do have another project on my radar that I am quite excited about – teacher wobbles.  Doesn’t your mind go flying with ideas?  (Mine does.  Of course, a lot of them aren’t good ones, it will take some finesse to try and get some good compositions)  Apples and rulers and chalkboards, oh my!  And floor mats, (for elementary) books, the list goes on.  Exciting!  Hopefully my next post will be an update on this project – I get to paint 5 of them, all small ones of course.  I hope you all had a great, relaxing weekend!

One thought on “A Much Needed Break

  1. Thanks for the great post about home 🙂
    I love the leaves… it’ll look fantastic, and I have some great buttons that I bought at Michaels when I did the Christmas runner. Remind me to show you…you’ll love them 😉

Leave a Reply

