A Wobbly Birthday

Since my Bunny turns 1 today, there had to be a momentous Wobble painting to accompany her special day!  I tried something I have NEVER tried before and to be honest, I don’t like the overall painting.  (How sad is that!)  I don’t know if I’ve ever posted about something I don’t like … it probably happens more often and I should write about it when it happens!  ( But I feel terrible that it happens to take place on Bunny’s Birthday!  Well, it’s memorable! )  In any case, this magnet is not a total write-off.  In fact, although there are parts I would change in a heartbeat, I am really drawn into the candle part. I think if I was to do it again, and I might because I like the look of illumination, there would either be more happening in the background (there’s too much grey in my opinion) or I would make more light rings.  I had originally wanted the little pink wobble’s face to be more illuminated, along with the pink, because then at least there would be some brightness to the painting.  As it is, I feel that the piece is too dark.  In order for illumination to take place, there does need to be darker, but wobbles just don’t seem quite as happy when their colours are dull!  I think this idea of light spreading around would look really cool in a camp fire scene.  I have done a campfire before and really loved how it turned out.  Can you imagine what it would look like if there were a gradation from the firelight flickering?  How cool 🙂

The Birthday Wobble

This type of look, where the painting is dark and the subject is illuminated by a light is called chiaroscuro and it was developed in the 16th century by a fellow named Caravaggio.  He is one of my favourite painters and I need to do a separate post about him some other time.  The picture below is the first Caravaggio I saw and studied.  Isn’t it gorgeous?  Suffice it to say, I have always been drawn to his work.  When the thought hit me to try a Wobble chiaroscuro, I couldn’t let the idea pass!  Happy Thursday everyone, and Happy Birthday Bunny!

The Calling of St. Matthew, 1599

One thought on “A Wobbly Birthday

  1. Happy 1st Birthday Bunny! I think the magnet is cute, but I can see what you mean about it being on the darker side. I like the light effect and I think it would look really cool around a campfire!

Leave a Reply

