Another Year Past

It’s hard to believe that another year has gone by.  I’ll never get that time back, what’s done is done.  Am I happy with how 2011 turned out?  I think so!  I’ve been encouraged by a couple bloggers to focus on the positives lately, and I think for the most part, I can do that easily.  Yes there have been tough moments, we all have them.  However, I do find that they are easily forgotten when something good happens, especially when it’s spontaneous.  For example …

I was in the Tim Horton’s Drive-thru the other day, and someone bought my bagel for me.

The last day of work before our holiday break was relaxing and, dare I say it, fun?!

I got some screaming deals BEFORE boxing day!

We drove up to my folks house for New Years, and my kid slept for an hour on the way.

My kid LOVES looking at Christmas lights. (This is a real plus for me, as I personally enjoy it so much myself)

I have been feeling better the last couple days, after feeling big enough to pop!

There are lots more but I think you catch my drift 🙂

As you can see in the above picture, I found some time to do some painting, and it felt great to tap into my artistic side again.  This picture was a concept image for a Christmas present I was commissioned to do.  I haven’t done any snow pictures since last year (which makes sense) but I love how this one turned out – so colourful!  The white snow always makes for such a nice background for the Wobble bright colours.  Also, winter attire lends itself to a wobbly style quite nicely since hats and scarves can twist and bend into unique shapes and pom-poms are fun any way you paint them!  Wow, it has been quite a while since I posted a painting.  I have one more yet to post, and then this blog will probably quiet down for another month or two while we move and, moreover, get used to our new baby, nicknamed “Ducky” for the purposes of this website, who arrives in February.

Happy New Year everyone, I hope you have a wonderful Eve tonight and that next year is full of blessings!

 

2 thoughts on “Another Year Past

  1. I love this painting. It makes me think of moving north and having one-day ski trips. I think you’re the BEST artist. I look forward to the next painting – coming soon?

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. Oh, moving. We’ll be doing it soon too, with any luck. I can’t wait.

    Good luck in your new house. Best wishes for you and your whole family for the new year. I think it’s going to be a good one. I feel it in my bones. I’m not a soothsayer, but sometimes one gets a sense of things. I have high hopes; good feelings about the future…

    …Especially for you. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

    1. Thanks Patsye for those kind words. Although I’m not a real skiier (my family never made that a winter activity) Andres’ family goes up multiple times each year and loves it. He has had many many ideas for winter scenes 🙂 I hope moving goes well for you too – we move at the end of January. Do you still have to sell your home or is that part all taken care of? I hope it is fast and that all goes well. Can’t wait to hear updates from your blog 🙂 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

