The New Diggs

So, we’re in, and loving the new space.  The move-in night went fantastic; we had about 10 people helping us, and Bunny’s room and half the kitchen got all unpacked that night.  The week afterward went anything but smoothly (which means that the short story is that Andres, Bunny and I all got the stomach flu the day after we moved in)  All in all, the transition was not quite as smooth as we had hoped but overall, we’re glad to be in our new home.  We all have things that we’re getting used to in the space.  Bunny is getting used to being at home everyday, rather than at daycare.  This along with still feeling a bit under the weather has had her quite grumpy and wanting to go “home” in the “brrm brrm”  I don’t have my painting space up and running yet, and as you can see by the pictures, we have our furniture in, but we haven’t put pictures up or bought some new decor yet.  So while the house is feeling like our house because of our things, it isn’t feeling like “home” yet either.  Generally I am a person easily busied with hobbies or reading etc, but I have felt a bit out of sorts as well.  Being 10 days from my due date prevents me from being on my feet too much, so I can’t even realistically do a lot of baking or kitchenny stuff right now.  I have been plopped on the couch quite a bit lately 🙂  Andres has been installing things here and there with his dad and my dad when he has had any extra energy.  I had forgotten how much work moving was, and had not considered how much extra work it would be with a toddler, and being pregnant.  I’m glad it’s over and we’re in!

Our living space …

Our kitchen …

Our bedroom ( still working on furniture!)

What we see from sitting on our bed – ensuite and closet

Bunny’s room, toys and all 🙂

9 thoughts on “The New Diggs

  1. Lovely new home 🙂 Sorry to hear you all got sick right after moving in. That’s awful! Things will come together eventually. Take care of yourself and relax 🙂

    1. Can’t wait to have you and your family over – there’s lots of room to run around now too – we have an unfinished basement that will be perfect for soccer or hockey 🙂

  2. Hi Cindy, I’ve been thinking of you three a bunch this week, and wondering how your first few days in your new place have been, all the new experiences, sounds while you lay in bed trying to fall asleep, etc. Hope you’re feeling better! take care
    Lillie

    1. Thanks Lillie, I think the newest “noise” to get used to is our dishwasher and there is definitely an echo in the main area, but a rug will fix that. Thanks again for those cookies! We’re still munching on the remainders 🙂

  3. I hate time and distance! We will have to see each other this year and have our kids meet and interact. Love the new house. Miss you tons.

    Petra-Ann

  4. Your house looks beautiful! And we’ve been thinking of you tons! I can’t wait till that little one makes his/her arrival. I wish like crazy I were closer to jump in and help you out. If you need anything please let me know.

  5. Your new home looks fabulous. Tabula rase! How I wish. You will have the best time making it your own, and the bones are beautiful. I see your art on those walls.

    The most amazing thing was my son and I got the stomach virus the day after we moved into the home we lived in for 15 years. My husband was out of town on business (he left right after the closing) and it was so horrible it was funny. Certainly an illness I’ll never forget. I guess the law of statistics says that will happen.

    But with a toddler and pregnant, you are a trooper. Can’t wait to hear that the little one is finally here and all is well. I am sending you the very best wishes. Patsye

Leave a Reply

