Treehouse

Treehouse
Treehouse

This is my newest image to date.  What do you think?  I still have some others to show but they are older ideas with a twist.  This picture has been in the works for a long time – I have had a sketch since before Ducky was born.  I made some concept images and liked where the colours would all go.  Then I started putting all the colours to canvas, but something was missing, and I got to the point that I didn’t like it.  So, it sat for quite a while half done.  I really liked the composition, but I didn’t know what to add.  While staring at it one day, Andres remarked that it needed some detail; not just the outlining, but something to keep his eye interested longer than the colours would.  We agreed that the tree might be a good place to add some extra highlights and shadows.  After the darks were put in my excitement about the painting returned but Andres was skeptical.  I kept at it.  After the highlights were put in I showed Andres again, and we both were surprised at how much a little light and dark affected the quality of this wobbles painting.  It got me thinking, and I think it’s true, that all my really successful pieces do have some detail in amongst the colour blocking.  Although my Wobbles paintings are simple, they still do have an aspect of technicality to them.  I really like how the colours interact in this painting.  Usually the detail is in the sky, but this time the sky is just a plain blue, while the tree is the attention grabber.  There is also some detail at the top with the birds nest, and below with the acorns.

I was intending on posting about another set of images but couldn’t find them as they are all smaller and my Bunny likes to play with them.  They are a baby gift for my new little second cousin.  Do you like to give practical gifts for babies or do you like to find one of a kind items?  Would you consider paintings?

5 thoughts on “Treehouse

  1. What a great post! I love your discussion of your artistic and otherwise thought process. As far as the image, I like how the outline layers are not consistently filled with the direct subject that could fill the content of their lines. Generally, as far as baby gifts, it depends on the parents and one’s relationship to them and their soon-to-be kid, right? Practical gifts seem appropriate for people who either one isn’t that close to, or who have expressed commonplace needs. Personal and one of a kind gifts seem more appropriate for families one is closer to and who will deeply appreciate such a, perhaps ornamental, gesture. For paintings, wall space is also an issue I can image. I look forward to more art!

    1. Hi! Thanks for visiting and for your kind words. I hope to see you here again soon, and I’m looking forward to checking out your site as well. Take care!

Leave a Reply

